Low-Waste Wedding: Part 1 -Decor

img_3647
Obligatory photo of myself and my handsome husband

Hey y’all! So as some of you may know, I recently tied the knot. From day one of planning, I tried to minimize as much waste as possible and I’d like to share with you the ways I found to do so. This post will focus on the decor aspect of the wedding.

 

 

Centerpieces

I purchased all of the vases second hand, the majority of them from my local recycling centre. I lucked out and was able to find the amount needed (9) of the same style vase. Total cost for the vases was about $15. At the end of the night, we encouraged people to take one home with them. I still have about 3 that made their way home with us, which I plan on donating back to the recycling centre. For the base underneath, we used birchwood discs. My husband’s parents needed to take down a tree 2 summers ago and believe me, I JUMPED on that opportunity. Many venues will charge a rental fee to use wooden discs like this. Cost to us: FREE. My father-in-law cut the discs down for us and my husband sanded them to make sure it was a flat surface for the vase to sit on.

7836ef33-4c5f-462a-89d3-e4bede78be50
Vase on the birch disc with LED tea light, name placecard, and table identification

Seating Chart

This was something I really wanted to have a very handmade feel to it. My mother-in-law found a huge old mirror in the garbage and brought it home. We took it apart, painted the frame, replaced the mirror with drywall which I painted with black chalk paint, and then I hand wrote each guest’s name. I think it turned out pretty fantastic and it only cost the paint and the paint marker!

IMG_3170

 

 

Table Identification

I bought an old book on herbs which had some great botanical illustrations from the local recycling centre for $1.00 and cut out the ones I wanted to use. I purchased an assortment of old picture frames from second hand shops, and the recycling centre. One of the frames cost me only $0.30! For the backing in the frames, I used some scrapbooking paper which I purchased at Michael’s in a large book for about $10. I used the same paper for the name place cards.

More to come as I have SO MUCH to share with everyone. If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

 

img_3591

Leave a comment