Deodorant & Antiperspirant

Sweat baby, sweat.

When it comes to sweat and body odour, it can be quite difficult to find the right product for you that is also cruelty-free and environmentally friendly. Depending on which of these is your priority when choosing a product, here are some reviews on the ones that I have tried.

  1. Lush Solid Deodorant- Aromaco ($6.95)  leaf leaf– vegan, cruelty-free, zero waste


    aromaco
    I give this one 2/5 because I love that it has no packaging but, it just did NOT work for me. The smell is very strong, and I found that it did not minimize any wetness or body odor for me. Sorry Lush, maybe you will come up with a new formula and a less potent scent?

  2. Lovetica ($15 CAD)  leafleaf – paraben, SLS and aluminum free, biodegradable, cruelty-free, for sensitive skin


    lovetica
    I give this one 2/5 because it just didn’t cut it for me. I found after a short period of time I smelled just awful. This deodorant is unscented which is great for people with sensitivities but if you find that you sweat a fair bit, it did not do a fantastic job as absorbing for me.

     

  3. Tarte Clean Queen ($17 CAD)  leafleafleaf – vegan, hypoallergenic, dermatologist tested, free of aluminum, alcohol, soy, and gluten


    tarte

    I give this one 3/5 because it did a better job than all of the other ones I tried. It has a nice, light fragrance to it that did not bother me. I did find that it only works for a few hours. I don’t believe the packaging is recyclable either which is too bad.

  4. Tom’s Long Lasting Natural Deodorant ($5 CAD)  leaf– vegan, cruelty-free, aluminum free, no artificial fragrances or preservatives


    toms

    I absolutely hated this one. It made me smell worse than before and really did not minimize any wetness.

  5. Schmidt’s Deodorant Jar- Ylang-Ylang + Calendula ($9 CAD)   leafleafleafleaf– enhanced with essential oils; no artificial fragrance, free of aluminum, propylene glycol, parabens & phthalates, vegan and cruelty-free, low waste, recycling plan for glass jars


    schmi

    This is my favourite one that I have tried with a rating of 4/5. It comes in a recyclable glass jar, smells great, and works really well. The spatula it comes with is also recyclable according to their website. There are many other fragrances to choose from but, I prefer this one as it is quite light and seems to mix well with my body chemistry. I purchased mine at Winners from their ‘natural’ section. The only negative thing I have to say is that it is a bit messy apply because you need to use your fingers.

  6. Certain Dri Anti Perspirant– Prescription Strength ($19 CAD)  leafleafleafleaf – the only cruelty-free clinical strength antiperspirant


    certaindri

    In spite of this not being the most environmentally friendly, I have given it 4/5 because this stuff WORKS. I suffer from hyperhidrosis (excessive sweating) and I have tried everything under the sun. Most clinical strength antiperspirants are not cruelty-free. This one is!
    The only other negative I have to say about this product is that as someone with sensitive skin, I do find it a bit irritating when I first apply it but, because it works so well, it is worth it to me. If you try this product, please follow the instructions provided and DO NOT APPLY AFTER HAIR REMOVAL. Wait until the next evening to apply.

Leave a comment